Beauty · Review

Review: Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner

I first used Sila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eye LinerΒ while doing makeup for a photoshoot and immediately fell in love with how easy it glided on. The felt tip pen is perfect for creating a thin line and it’s easy to glide more of the pen on the eyelid to create a thicker line, it’s also the perfect tool for creating a perfect winged eye. After purchasing this liner it soon replaced my go to Blacktrack liner from MAC. This is a huge deal for me as it has been my go to liner for years!

A-Sprinkle-Of-Love-Stilla-Review

I purchased this product back in July, which happened to be an incredibly hot month so I was excited to have an eye liner in my collection that was Waterproof because well, when it’s hot you sweat. It’s not pretty but it’s the truth. To my disappointment I found out that this so called waterproof liner was not up to the task of staying put while I was out in the hot sun. After a few hours of outdoor activities during the Calgary Stampede I got a nice black line in my crease from the liner. Not a look I’m fond of rocking. I quickly fixed the mishap and shrugged it off as a one time thing and figured that I must not have let it dry enough. Liquid liners need drying time, right? However after a couple more days of testing out different theories (patting it down with eye-shadow and using it in a climate controlled location, ie my air-conditioned office) I came to the conclusion that it’s not waterproof at all. Well that or my eyelids have magically become incredibly oily all of a sudden.

Overall I do love this liquid eyeliner but I am skeptical of it’s “waterproof” claims. I will continue to use this but it will only be on cooler days or for night events in case this liner ends up on in my crease again!Β So for now MAC Blacktrack has once again claimed it’s top eyeliner spot in my books.

Pros:

  • Glides on smoothly
  • Can be applied with a very light hand
  • Felt tip doesn’t dry out

Cons:

  • Smudges into the crease on hot days
  • Smudges into the crease if I create a thick eyeliner

What are your thoughts on this product if you have used it? What is your favourite liquid liner or eye liner in general?

Signature

Leave a Reply

