Beauty

Review: Rimmel London Wake Me Up Foundation

I wanted to try a new drug store foundation so I went to the nearest drug store and did my usual walking up and down the aisle picking up anything and everything that looked pretty until I decided on which foundation I wanted to try, as well as a handful of other little goodies. I’ve been a big fan of Rimmel products and when I saw they had a foundation that was named Wake Me Up Foundation with anti-fatigue effect and radiant glow I was sold. Who doesn’t want to look more alive first thing in the morning? But let me tell you, I have been using this foundation for about two plus months now and it was far from love at first application.

Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation

When I first began using this foundation I switched it out with my old one and continued using all my other daily face products, andΒ well, it didn’t work so wonderfully. I was so disappointed with the first few applications because it made my face look cakey, not a look I enjoy, and it didn’t blend well with my new favourite NARS Radiant Concealer – you can read my review on that here. But since I can’t return opened makeup products I was stuck with what I thought was an unflattering foundation whether I like it or not. Thankfully I’m not a fan of wasting makeup and therefor I sat myself down in my bathroom and started to play around with different concealers and powders that I have in my makeup collection before I would allow myself to completely write the Rimmel Wake me Up Foundation off as a bad purchase.

Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation

After playing around with a few different combinations I finally found the perfect concealer and powder to use with this foundation and I absolutely love the radiant looking skin that I was able to achieve with this foundation. I found that this foundation works best on me when I apply MAC Select Cover Up under my eyes and blemishes, then apply and blend the crap out of RimmelΒ Wake Me Up Foundation and set it with Bare Minerals Mineral Veil powder. I’m so happy that I decided to play around with this foundation before writing it off and that I was able to make this product work for me.

Have you ever bought a makeup product that you truly disliked at first but grew to love it?

Signature

3 thoughts on “Review: Rimmel London Wake Me Up Foundation

  1. This happens to me literally ALL. THE. TIME.
    I’ll pick something up (okay, admittedly it’s usually on a whim) and then I’ll use it once or twice then forget about it for 5 months, rediscover it, and then use it obsessively! I’m such a fickle, fickle person. Hah I’m glad you played around & got this foundation to work out for you though!

    xx,
    j. parker

    1. I also have a tendency to buy so many beauty products on the whim! I will go into the drug store to pick up one thing and end up coming out with new nail polishes, lipsticks and anything that looked pretty. haha I’m so happy that I was able to get the foundation to work for me because it’s the worst when you buy something and it ends up being a big disappointment. xx

  2. I’ve heard people rave about this foundation – but foundation is so subjective – what works for one person won’t necessarily work for someone else. I’m glad you found a way to make it work for you though. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

